• canaa-new-banner-1f.jpg
  • canaa-new-banner-2f.jpg
  • canaa-new-banner-3f.jpg
  • canaa-new-banner-4f.jpg
  • canaa-new-banner-5f.jpg

Ghanaian Catholic Journalist among Winners of International Award for Excellence in Journalism

CANAA || By Father Don Bosco Onyalla, Nairobi || 27 June 2016

damian avevor award 2016Ghanaian Catholic journalist, Damian Avevor, is among the winners of the International award for excellence in journalism 2016 under the auspices of the International Christian Organisation of the Media (ICOM).

Mr. Avevor who is the News Editor of The Catholic Standard, the only Catholic national Weekly in Ghana, won the same Award from the Geneva-based ICOM in 2013, traveling Panama City in the Central America to receive the prestigious Award.

For the second time, he was the only Ghanaian Journalist among 30 winners of the Awards in eight categories chosen from over 2,000 competitors from all over the world.

The award was announced on June 22 by ICOM in Switzerland and copied by emailed to all the contestants.

Other winners in the category of excellence in journalism from Africa included Josephat Kioko from Kenya and Odimegwu Onwumere from Nigeria.

The Union of Journalists of South Sudan won the international award for freedom of expression while South Africa-based WorldWide Magazine emerged victorious in the International Award for Promoting Dialogue (Titus Brandsma Award).

Wallace Mawire from Zimbabwe and Njeru Nyaga from Kenya were among the winners of the International Photojournalism Award.

Josiane Kouagheu and Mireille Tchiako both from Cameroon were the African winners of the International Award for Women Issues was won by

Sudan’s Jervasio Okot won the International Award for Solidarity with Refugees.

In Ghana, the award for excellence in journalism has previously been won by others. It was won in 2001 and 2004 by Dr. Africanus Diedong, currently a Lecturer at the University of Development Studies (UDS), Wa Campus. In 2004 and 2007, it was won by Anas Aremeyaw Anas of the Crusading Guide; 1992 and 1995 by Samuel Sarpong; 1998 by Vincent Azumah and 1989 by Mr. Paul Krampah.

Mr. Avevor entered the competition in the Excellence in Journalism Category with two feature articles on “Adventure in Panama, the Singapore of America”, published on ModernGhana.com, an Internet Portal in Ghana and New City Magazine in Philippines.

The second article was on “Nelson Mandela, Great Son of Africa” also published in New City Magazine in Philippines.

He also submitted a news story for the same category with the headline “Ebola Threat Causes Ghanaian Bishops to Urge Delay of Soccer Tournament,” published on the website of Catholic News Service (CNS) in the USA.

The two major criteria for determining the Award Winners were content value and journalistic presentation in their works presented.

“We plan to organise an award ceremony during the congress in the Philippines,” said Mr. Scheerlinck’s message to Mr. Avevor.

“If you intend to come, we would be happy to take care of your registration fee and accommodation and meals costs from 9 to 12 October 2016 as per congress arrangements,” the message continues.

The triennial awards honour outstanding media professionals, publications and institutions worldwide, and recognize their exemplary contributions.

The international awards enhance and make journalistic and media works more valuable in diverse fields, and acknowledge the efforts of all participating journalists and media professionals as well as their milieu.

They help guarantee freedom of expression and freedom of the media at all levels in spite of all types of pressures especially from political, business and religious leaders and authorities.


Audio - Various

Video: Kamba Peace Museum - Machakos


African Continent


Advertise with us...




  • banner1.jpg
  • banner2.jpg
  • banner3.jpg
  • banner4.jpg
  • banner6.jpg
  • banner7.jpg
  • banner8.jpg
  • banner10.jpg